Air Texture, Vol. I - Compiled by bvdub and Andrew Thomas

Various Artists // Air Texture
Format // 2xCD
Ambient today isn't so much about psychedelics or chilling out as it is presenting the melodic or beatless fabric of electronic music.  Stripped of prevalent rhythm, songs tend toward melodic composition and detail. These songs may become “compositional” as individuals express themselves with technology under focused or emotive ideals. The music becomes timeless (free of meter) when the music looses its structure while retaining its idea.
In the tradition of Excursions in Ambience, Instinct Ambient, and Pop Ambient, Air Texture looks to catalogue and promote the diverse world of ambient, experimental, and less beat oriented electronic music. The Air Texture Volume Series asks two producers to curate a CD each of material for combined release. Volume I looked to bvdub (Brock Van Wey) and Andrew Thomas for guidance. Selections featured an in-depth list of emerging and established artists such as Oneohtrix Point Never, Ian Hawgood, Atlas Sound, Klimek, loscil, Biosphere, Markus Guentner, and Wolfgang Voigt.
Volume II will be selected by loscil and Rafael Anton Irisarri. Volume III by Deadbeat and DJ Olive.
Artists Orla Wren // Rafael Anton Irisarri // Let’s Go Outside // Bvdub // Maps And Diagrams // Ian Hawgood // Hessien // Konntinent // The Green Kingdom // Ryonkt // Arc Of Doves // Klimek // Andrew Thomas // Atlas Sound // Oneohtrix Point Never // Chihei Hatakeyama // Loscil // Biosphere // Markus Guentner // Bevan Smith And Tristan Dingemans // Leyland Kirby // Wolfgang Voigt // Signer
  • Release Date // October 31, 2011
  • Format // 2xCD
  • Catalog Nr // AIR 001 CD
  • EAN // 641444085323